Skip to content

thursday

April 30, 2009

3 things:

 

storiesdivinations

Stories divinations

 

heidilouise

Heidi Louise

 

artemisia
Artemesia

 

3 links:

Why we need music education in public schools

Expected life of flash-drive data? 10 years. Expected life of a printed book? 1,000. From “Retro media: memory and memories lost”

Affordable art fair, May 7-10, NYC

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kendra Zvonik permalink
    May 1, 2009 7:44 am

    The you tube video was very moving. I forwarded it to a couple of people. The young girls with their hands on their hearts- feeling every note. Every child participating in the song. I have always known that I was a lousy singer but I have always loved to sing. I learned to play some instruments as a child and although I didn’t keep up with it, I think it helped me become a more confident person. It makes me so sad when I hear about music and art programs getting cut from curriculums.
    I’m still thinking about your post from the other day . . . Poe and the artists writing in about how the economy is affecting art. This is all connected. The economy is just an excuse to silence people.

    The life span of flash drives . . . I knew I blew it when I gave up my vinyl collection. I can’t imagine reading books online. There’s some new gadget like a blackberry, forgot what it’s called, for reading books. Who wants that? I like the feel of the paper in my hands. Nothing can replace the tangible experience. The feel of flipping the record over. As inconvenient as that may be, it makes one participate in the album.
    The bootmaker- so cool. I live in sandals land now and her prices were incredible.
    I’d like to check out that artfair!
    Thanks A! You always give me so much food for thought. I really appreciate it.
    Have a good weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

