Skip to content

thursday

April 9, 2009

3 things:

 

roadside

Roadside productions

 

squirrelcreek
Squirrel creek

 

superdensity
Superdensity

 

3 links:

The odd origins of kindergarten–and modern art

“Warm in the shadows” from L.A. electro-pop band Music Go Music

Harpel’s typograph: or book of specimens containing useful information, suggestions and a collection of examples of letterpress job printing arranged for the assistance of master printers, amateurs, apprentices and others (1870)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2009 10:03 am

    Love the 3D art!

    mary
    hoganfe handmade
    handbag originals

  2. Kendra Zvonik permalink
    April 9, 2009 7:49 am

    Thank God! I was going nuts over here-
    Would love to hear more about the progressive kindergarten. Both my parents were educators, so I grew up hearing education theory- never heard ANY discussion about art and its roles. Art is practically invisible in education now.

  3. justthreethings permalink*
    April 9, 2009 7:42 am

    Gotta break this one-way convo:) I did an internship at a progressive kindergarten in college…verrrryyy interesting. People never suspect all the theoretical underpinnings to early childhood education. Music go music is definitely ABBA inspired, and who doesn’t love ABBA?

  4. Kendra Zvonik permalink
    April 9, 2009 7:33 am

    music go music- crazy cat avatar distracted me at first. you’d know i’m an abba fan if i tell you that i like music go music. there’s no way to disguise that i understand disco if i tell you that i like music go music. and i do.
    love the harmonies. but those cats are killing me!! hahaha

  5. Kendra Zvonik permalink
    April 9, 2009 7:21 am

    some incomplete thoughts in my 1st reply- that idea just got me in my head.

  6. Kendra Zvonik permalink
    April 9, 2009 7:19 am

    Amazing kindergarten exhibition- the whole concept is incredibly exciting and interesting to me. (My mother was my kindergarten teacher- so naturally I thought it was named after me- kendragarten. This probably explains a lot about me.) The original concept of kindergarten and how it relates to the work of some of the abstract masters is worth investigation- too bad the show was 2 years ago. I want to see those pattern books. Also, the role that women had as the primary instructors and primary influence on the beginnings of modern art. Good find, A.

    also enjoyed the vintage shop you found on etsy- cool items. could use better lighting in the photos however.
    off to enjoy the music.
    have a good day.

Leave a Reply

